Home›Planning› Brownfield land in Sandwell
Brownfield land in Sandwell
351 sites in Sandwell are on the brownfield land register published on planning.data.gov.uk, with entries last updated between 30 June 2016 and 3 December 2025. In the 12 months to 3 December 2025, 38 entries were updated: 19 recorded as permissioned and 19 as not permissioned.
Permission, ownership and deliverability
| Measure | Sites |
|---|---|
| Permission status not recorded | 214 |
| Permissioned | 78 |
| Not permissioned | 58 |
| Pending decision | 1 |
| Ownership not recorded | 327 |
| Owned by a public authority | 17 |
| Not owned by a public authority | 7 |
| Deliverable: yes | 80 |
| Deliverable: not stated | 271 |
No permission status is recorded for 214 of the 351 sites, and no ownership status for 327, so these counts describe only the sites where a value was entered.
Site size and homes
| Measure | Median | Sites |
|---|---|---|
| Site area | 0.525 ha | 350 |
| Minimum net dwellings | 22 | 141 |
| Maximum net dwellings | 22 | 141 |
Dwelling estimates are entered for 141 of the 351 sites.
Entries updated in the last 12 months
| Measure | Entries |
|---|---|
| Permissioned | 19 |
| Not permissioned | 19 |
| Deliverable: yes | 31 |
| Deliverable: not stated | 7 |
| Ownership not recorded | 36 |
| Owned by a public authority | 1 |
| Not owned by a public authority | 1 |
| Median site area | 0.48 ha |
| Median minimum net dwellings | 23 |
| Median maximum net dwellings | 23 |
The 38 entries were updated between 8 January and 3 December 2025.
About this data
Sites are placed in the district their mapped point lies in. Only sites still on the register are counted, and sites published without a point are left out. Areas and status wording are as the planning authority entered them. Dates are entry-dates (when the entry was last updated on planning.data.gov.uk), not when a site was first registered. The latest Sandwell entry is dated 3 December 2025, so these figures are not current to today.
Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Source: planning.data.gov.uk, Brownfield land, entries 30 June 2016 to 3 December 2025. Retrieved 22 October 2026. Licence: Open Government Licence v3.0.
Planning a project nearby?
Try the conservation area check and the Article 4 checker.
Other brownfield registers