Home › Data sources
Data methodology
Price Paid Data — HM Land Registry
Every residential sale in England and Wales lodged for registration since January 1995. Published as a single open file, updated monthly, under the Open Government Licence v3.0. This is the whole of the sold-price side of the site. It records the consideration — what was paid — and it contains no buyer or seller identity of any kind.
What is excluded from the averages, and why
Category B transactions. Market summaries use HM Land Registry Category A standard residential sales. Category B records remain visible as transaction evidence but do not silently shape a typical-price figure.
Bulk and portfolio transfers. HM Land Registry repeats the whole consideration against every title in a multi-property transfer. Left in, a £42m six-property portfolio contributes six £42m "house prices". Those rows are found, shown at block sales, and excluded from every median and average.
Nominal consideration. Transfers of £1,000 or less are gifts, family transfers and corporate reshuffles, not sales. They are flagged and excluded.
The underlying records stay visible with their caveats. Hiding a real registry entry from someone looking up their own home would be worse than showing it with the correct classification.
UK House Price Index
Published monthly by HM Land Registry with the Office for National Statistics. Mix-adjusted, so it is not comparable with the raw medians elsewhere on this site — that is the point of showing both.
Statutory protections — planning.data.gov.uk
The public planning journey uses only dataset families whose metadata records the Open Government Licence v3.0: listed buildings, conservation areas, Article 4 directions, tree preservation orders and related statutory designations. The site preserves each register’s uneven geographic coverage and labels no match as inconclusive.
Planning applications — held, not published
The private catalogue contains 1,735,211 planning-application records, but 1,517,024 records come from publishers whose licence is not stated in the current source ledger. Application descriptions, addresses, decisions and derived application reports therefore remain unavailable on the live site. Technical access to a portal is not treated as a publication grant.
Ownership — held, not collected for publication
Price Paid Data contains no buyer or seller identity. CCOD and OCOD sit behind a registered HM Land Registry account and their own terms rather than OGL. No key has been obtained for this project, no ownership dataset is present in its public R2 catalogue, and ownership pages remain disabled.
Licences
What each publisher permits, dataset by dataset. Where a publisher states no licence, this table says so instead of assuming one.
| Dataset | Publisher | Licence | Commercial | Derivatives |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price paid — 31.3M sales Attribution statement required. The ADDRESS fields (postcode, PAON, SAON, street, locality, town, district, county) are Ordnance Survey AddressBase / Royal Mail PAF data — OGL explicitly does not cover those third-party rights. Royal Mail and OS permit their commercial use only "to display for the purpose of providing residential property price information services", which is what this site does. | HM Land Registry | OGL v3.0 | ⚠ | ✔ |
| UK House Price Index Attribution required. | HM Land Registry & ONS | OGL v3.0 | ✔ | ✔ |
| Planning applications — 1.28M No licence is stated on the Planning London Datahub, on its London Datastore entry, or in the API response. The data is served openly with a published guest key, but open access is not the same as a licence grant. Treated as unknown until the GLA states terms. | Greater London Authority | Unknown | ? | ? |
| Planning applications — 350k Each council publishes on its own terms; most cite OGL v3 but not all state one. Per-dataset terms are on the publishing council's own page. | 56 local authorities | Varies | ~ | ~ |
| Statutory protections — 520k Confirmed in each dataset's own metadata. Underlying designations originate with Historic England and local authorities; the platform publishes them under OGL. | MHCLG (planning.data.gov.uk) | OGL v3.0 | ✔ | ✔ |
| Postcode centroids — 1.57M Attribution required. Northern Irish postcodes are excluded by the publisher as they carry a more restrictive licence. | GetTheData, from the ONS Postcode Directory | OGL v3.0 + OS OpenData | ✔ | ✔ |
| Estate agent branches — 6,271 ODbL is SHARE-ALIKE: a derived database must itself be offered under ODbL. The held discovery layer is not published on the live site. | OpenStreetMap contributors | ODbL 1.0 | ✔ | ⚠ |
| Company records Officers' dates of birth and residential addresses are returned by the API and are deliberately not published here. | Companies House | OGL v3.0 | ✔ | ✔ |
| CCOD / OCOD ownership NOT OGL. Free but behind a registered account and API key, with its own terms on republication. Not currently used — no key — so no obligation has been taken on. | HM Land Registry | Own terms, account required | ? | ? |
| Agent listings — 2,788 No publication or collection grant is recorded. Collection is paused and listing records are not published on the live site. | Individual estate agents | Not open data | ✘ | ✘ |
✔ permitted · ⚠ permitted with conditions · ? not stated by the publisher · ~ varies. Verified against each publisher's own terms, 22 August 2026. Where a publisher states nothing, this says Unknown rather than assuming.
What this site is not
It is not a valuation, an estate agent, or a source of live listings. Every number is a record of something that already happened. Confirm against the source before relying on it for anything that matters.